Although Boone County historians had been meeting since 1939, the Boone County Historical Society was formally
organized in 1963.
The Society opened its first museum July 3, 1976, in the historic Maplewood House. This Italianate-style structure
was built in 1877 on the farmsite of the Lenoir and Nifong families, which is now Nifong Park.
The Boone County Historical Society, and organizations throughout Boone County, along with the City of Columbia
which owns the house and park, restored Maplewood for the nation's bicentennial in 1976. Since that time, the Society has
maintained a cooperative agreement with the City of Columbia to operate Maplewood as an historic house museum.
By the early 1980s, the Boone County Historical Society began to draft
plans for a history museum adjacent to the historic house in Nifong Park, and began to seek public support for its completion.
Construction began October 1986 and was completed almost entirely with private contributions, volunteer labor and donated
The Walters-Boone County Museum, named in honor of developer and benefactor
Raul Walters, opened to the public on July 28, 1990. Today, the museum houses history galleries, the Montminy Art Gallery,
climate-controlled collections storage, meeting rooms and the Wilson-Wulff Genealogical Library, which is operated by the
Genealogical Society of Central Missouri.